Hi I'm HerO
I just got back from an impulsive camping trip with some university friends so this tournament report is a couple of days late. But fret not, as I wrote down important details on my phone after every match in case the details in my mind faded with time.
I decided on playing Wind-Ups after I loved their playstyle and individual cards -- even after the March banlist. They required more skill, thinking and Magician Shark was no longer a free win. My deck list is posted below:
Main 41
3 Shark
3 Rat
3 Rabbit
1 Magician
1 Warrior
2 Tour Guide
1 Cardcar D
1 Gorz
3 Mystical Space Typhoon
3 Wind-Up Factory
2 Pot of Duality
1 Monster Reborn
1 Heavy Storm
1 Dark Hole
1 Mind Control
1 Tenki
1 Pot of Avarice
2 Bottomless
2 Fiendish Chain
2 Dimensional Prison
2 Mirror Force
2 Torrential Tribute
1 Solemn Warning
1 Solemn Judgment
Extra 15
1 Zenmaines
1 Temtempo
1 Invoker
1 Soul of Silvermountain
1 Leviair
1 Leviathan
3 Mystical Space Typhoon
3 Wind-Up Factory
2 Pot of Duality
1 Monster Reborn
1 Heavy Storm
1 Dark Hole
1 Mind Control
1 Tenki
1 Pot of Avarice
2 Bottomless
2 Fiendish Chain
2 Dimensional Prison
2 Mirror Force
2 Torrential Tribute
1 Solemn Warning
1 Solemn Judgment
Extra 15
1 Zenmaines
1 Temtempo
1 Invoker
1 Soul of Silvermountain
1 Leviair
1 Leviathan
1 Acid Golem
1 Abyss Dweller
1 Diamond Dire Wolf
1 Maestroke
1 Photon Papi
1 Shock Master
1 Tiras
1 Volcasaurus
1 Gaia Dragon Charger
1 Abyss Dweller
1 Diamond Dire Wolf
1 Maestroke
1 Photon Papi
1 Shock Master
1 Tiras
1 Volcasaurus
1 Gaia Dragon Charger
Side 15
2 Maxx "C"
2 Tragoedia
2 Snowman Eater
3 Dimensional Fissure
2 Level Limit - Area B
2 Messenger of Peace
2 Dust Tornado
Some card choices;
Gorz - a lot better than most people think in this deck. I know what you're thinking, "HERO, U RUN 4 CONTINOUS SPELLS, IT WILL MAKE GORZ DEAD", but it actually won't since most of the time I drop it after a Heavy Storm. All 4 times that I drew Gorz I dropped him on the field, and 3 out of those 4 times to a game-winning extent. He's just too good.
1 Cardcar D - in order to be able to run Gorz I had to cut some slight consistency with a Cardcar D. Unfortunately, I never opened with Cardcar D during the whole tournament, which is more annoying than anything considering I opened with my lone Wind-Up Warrior at least 5 times. >_>
Pot of Avarice - I resolved this card twice all tournament, both times to game-winning extents, and although it was dead the majority of the time, a solid bluff baited MST's and still made my opponent wary of backrow. I really want to fit another Cardcar D and this card would probably be the first out. I sided it out a few times.
Mind Control - Card won me games, period. It was MVP in my 4th round, just so good. Rarely dead, and if it was it became solid MST bait.
Acid Golem vs. Utopia - Yeah you need Utopia for a couple OTK's but during the whole tournament I could OTK successfully zero times. This deck CAN OTK, but it doesn't HAVE to OTK to win. Acid Golem put infinitely more work in than Utopia would have, forcing backrow in attempts trying to run over Abyssgaios, Abyssleeds, etc.
The Tournament
Registration was at 10:00AM, and friends and I got there at about 9:40. Other friends had already lined up so we became "those people" and cut in behind them. At around 9:55AM they announced that registration was to begin, and the inevitable crowd of duelists formed around the door because as duelists we don't believe in single file lines.
Walking in, first impressions about the venue weren't too great. We noticed that there were a LOT of people outside and yet the venue was on the small side. We saw that they only had space for about ~130 people and figured there were more than that outside. Indeed after registration concluded, it was announced that the maximum allowed number of people were accommodated at 150, and later read online that about 100 people were turned away. Really sucks and if anything, hurts the local scene.
I saw some familiar faces, including popular online legendary doolist LFN, who was to be judging in the tournament. Shortly before first round he gracefully broke a railing and the room broke into applause. What a legend.
An hour and a half after entering the venue for the first time, it was announced the registration had finally been completed, but since they were so behind that they were going to give us a lunch break before the tournament even began. Oh well. We go outside, cross the street to a Fresh Slice and eat some delicious pizza.
After coming back, pairings are already posted since they didn't have time to deck check, etc. We sit down, and minutes later are told there's a repair. We finally find our correct opponent's and after the Judge's okay, the tournament begins!
Round 1
HerO (Wind-Ups) vs. CQiao (Mono Mermail) LOST DICEROLL
Game 1: A familiar face, we know each other originally from play Cardfight!! Vanguard, but now we are matched against each other in a game of higher stakes, intellect and skill (muffled laughter). He starts by telling me that this isn't his main game any more, and that Vanguard is his heart's true calling. He says he doesn't really care too much about Yu-Gi-Oh!... as he drops Dragoons for Abyssleed. This guy. After I deal with his Abyssleed, I sit on a Dweller for 2 full turns, which is enough for me to accumulate resources with Factory and eventually just outresource him and take the win.
Game 2: I side in D-Fissure, Maxx "C" and Tragoedia but only see 1 Tragoedia out of all these cards, but it's okay because Abyss Dweller is a card, as I sit on it, outresource him with double Factory and take the match.
Round 2
HerO (Wind-Ups) vs. Michael (Inzektors) LOST DICEROLL
Game 1: He opens Hornet/Dragonfly and I get OTK'd.
Game 2: Standard Inzektor bullshit rapes me as I draw no pink cards other than Warning.
Round 1
HerO (Wind-Ups) vs. CQiao (Mono Mermail) LOST DICEROLL
Game 1: A familiar face, we know each other originally from play Cardfight!! Vanguard, but now we are matched against each other in a game of higher stakes, intellect and skill (muffled laughter). He starts by telling me that this isn't his main game any more, and that Vanguard is his heart's true calling. He says he doesn't really care too much about Yu-Gi-Oh!... as he drops Dragoons for Abyssleed. This guy. After I deal with his Abyssleed, I sit on a Dweller for 2 full turns, which is enough for me to accumulate resources with Factory and eventually just outresource him and take the win.
Game 2: I side in D-Fissure, Maxx "C" and Tragoedia but only see 1 Tragoedia out of all these cards, but it's okay because Abyss Dweller is a card, as I sit on it, outresource him with double Factory and take the match.
Round 2
HerO (Wind-Ups) vs. Michael (Inzektors) LOST DICEROLL
Game 1: He opens Hornet/Dragonfly and I get OTK'd.
Game 2: Standard Inzektor bullshit rapes me as I draw no pink cards other than Warning.
The salt. IT BURNS.
Round 3
HerO (Wind-Ups) vs. Sean (Mono Mermail) LOST DICEROLL
Game 1: I know him from locals and he's one of the more decent players in the area. He opens double Megalo into Abyssgaios. I try to run it over with Acid Golem but his Forbidden Lance stops me from doing so and I just roll over and die.
Game 2: I side in my standard Mermail hate, but don't open any. I try to make Dweller but he Bottomless' it. It seems like his hand just wasn't particularly good as he barely made any plays despite us being even in hand. Eventually I get my Factory going, accumulate resources and just grind him out.
Game 3: Another long game. I open with D-Fissure, and see that he starts by setting 2 cards. He for some reason chains Abyss-Sphere to my Rabbit summon, summoning Linde. I just calmly play my D-Fissure and collect my ez +1. He has no outs to my D-Fissure and I get my Factory going since turn 1 and just grind him out hard.
Round 4
HerO (Wind-Ups) vs. Unknown (Undine Mermail) WON DICEROLL
Game 1: I forgot his name, but he was relatively nice. I wasn't even annoyed that it was another Water player since I'm currently 2-0 against Water at this point. I believe I opened Rabbit, Factory this game, allowing me to continuously get resources. Eventually he just fizzles out after my backrow deals with this Megalo and Abyssleed and I take the relatively ez win.
Game 2: I open pretty poorly, with Warrior and Rat and other backrow, which isn't enough to stop a well-timed Black Rose Dragon, wiping nearly everything I had out. Eventually he seals the win a few turns later with a Moulinglacia.
Game 3: I get Dweller out and sit on it for a bit, once again drawing no side hate. He makes a play with Diva/Infantry finishing with a Armory Arm'd Hyper Librarian. I had opened with Warrior again, and RIP the Mind Control, taking his Librarian and using my in-hand Warrior to make Tiras. After taking a beating with Tiras and being unable to get rid of it, he gets low on Life Points. After a bit I manage to draw into my Factory, get some resources, but he manages to get out a Temtempo to get rid of my Zenmaines. I rip the second shark to drop Shark/Shark for a Volcasaurus for game.
Round 5
HerO (Wind-Ups) vs. Kelvin (Fire Fist) WON DICEROLL
Game 1: I also know this guy, being a friend of Sean, the player I defeated in the third round. He swears he'll take vengeance on me for taking down his friend. I open with Gorz, so I just set 1 and end. He Tenki's for a Gorilla, taking the bait as he pops my face-down Dimensional Prison. He attacks and I drop the Gorz which is enough to force him to Dark Hole his own monster to get rid of it in the Main Phase 2. I force-slow the game down, trading my backrow for his Bears - all while having a Factory out in order to stay ahead in resources. Eventually he just can't keep up and I take the win.
Game 2: Don't quite remember what happens in this game -- I think a Storm forces my Solemn Judgment bringing me low on life points, and without drawing pink cards, I have a hard time stopping his attacks. He gains too much advantage and I get beat down.
Game 3: Level Limit puts in work as I run over his Gene Warped Warwolf with my Rabbit. Once again I bring the game down to a crawl while having a Factory out, netting me the resource advantage. Eventually I leave him top-decking and he just sets backrow that apparently were bluffs as I just beat him down with Xyz monsters that are conveniently unaffected by Level Limit.
Round 6
HerO (Wind-Ups) vs. Jonathan Weigle (Fire Fist) WON DICEROLL
Game 1: I didn't know who he was until Jadge LFN told me. Apparently he's topped multiple YCS's and regionals, so I had my work cut out for me. First game was a long 25-30mins game. I was at 550 LP to his 600 LP for about 5-6 turns. I slowed down the game and we were both left topdecking for a couple turns. Eventually I managed to get my resources together for a Volcasaurus for game.
Game 2: Second game was also slow and went into time. Messenger put in work to keep him from killing me, as did Level Limit. In the end I had a poor hand and couldn't get out of the early game without being really behind. The game was his to win, so after the game went into time, since he was nice enough I agreed to play it through. I lost not too much after.
Game 3: With time called, we decided to play first 5 turns. I opened Messenger of Peace, which bought me a turn, and we each had 4 backrow each. After the 5 turns are up, we agree to play 'til first blood. He summons a Bear, and uses it's effect to try and pop my only monster, which I chain Fiendish Chain to - but he has the Forbidden Lance giving him the win.
I was pretty happy with my performance this match, it was extremely close and considering my opponent I definitely stood toe-to-toe with him. I wished him luck in the future rounds, telling him that he better top now.
Round 7
HerO (Wind-Ups) vs. Nolan (Agents) WON DICEROLL
Game 1: I had met him earlier today, as he was a friend of a friend. After an intense match vs. Jonathan it was nice to have a more friendly and casual match. I opened Rabbit and Factory netting me some quick advantage. He set a Mystical Shine Ball and a couple backrow which didn't prove to be much of a threat. He tops Tour Guide and goes into Zenmaines. I make Temtempo, and after dealing with Zenmaines, my early constant pressure with Xyz netted me the win.
Game 2: I sided in 1 Snowman Eater for his potential Krystia and 1 Maxx "C". He opens with Venus, and I check my hand to see if I had my Maxx "C". There it was. I got a Factory off it by drawing 3 cards and the rest was history.
Still X-2, I had a chance to at least get my invite. Here's hoping for a weaker Round 8 opponent...
Final Round
HerO (Wind-Ups) vs. Michael Stibbins (Inzektors) LOST DICEROLL
Game 1: Well fuck me. Michael Stibbins. Winner of YCS Seattle and has topped many other YCS' and regionals. I found out quickly that he was playing his trademark deck. A hell of a player and against my worst match-up? Yeah not gonna happen. I open with Solemn Duo so I set 3 other than my already played Tenki and end. He Heavy Storms, forcing out the Judgment then summons an Inzektor, forcing the Warning, cutting my life points to 2000LP first turn. He does some Inzektor stuff later on but I get out a Dire Wolf and Rabbit vs. his 3 backrow. I use Dire Wolf's effect, and I end up targetting his Safe Zone, swiftly sending my Dire Wolf to the graveyard. It was pretty much over after that.
Game 2: I opened Solemn Duo (again) so my life points are cut quickly cut (again). I end up making Soul of Silvermountain, targetting something irrelevant and end up dying to a 2900 Centipede to my Soul of Silvermountain's face. He said that if I had targetted his set Call of the Haunted he would've had nothing and I probably would have won. Oh well.
So the dream ends at 5-3. One win away from an invite and I just had to get Michael Stibbins playing Inzektors as my last opponent. Oh well, that's Yu-Gi-Oh!.
Props
- Going 3-0 against Water
- Going toe-to-toe against Jonathan Weigle
- Getting a lot of compliments about my mat!
- Picking up a playset of secret Wind-Up Rabbits and a super German Solemn Judgment.
- My overall performance and play at the event
Slops
- Going 0-2 vs Inzektors
- Getting paired against Michael Stibbins last round
- Being one win away from getting an invite
Conclusion
Well that concludes this tournament report, thank you to all that read the whole thing!
HerO
No comments:
Post a Comment